Too close to home…

Has anyone else had to stop watching dark violent shows when they had kids (think Law and Order SVU and Dangerous Women)?

When I had my daughter, everything seems fresh and new and the sun was brighter and grass was greener and every good thing in life was awesome.  I was so excited to share holidays, cooking, and all sorts of experiences with my kiddo.

But then the flip side crept in.  All of the sudden the kid of TV being hurt was not a concept.  The starving baby in their mother’s arms in Time or National Geographic was not sad but devastating to see.  Ok, time to stop evil world, this is too close to home.  That could me MY kid!  I would literally go crazy if I couldn’t take care of my kids.

I once was watching a series documenting WWI and they had video of starving babies in England and I had to turn it off.  I was reading an article in Time about the gender based violence in Africa and I couldn’t finish the article because I felt numb and was literally about to puke!  Part of me is like “well, what do you expect, the world isn’t just lunch dates and care bears!  Don’t be so surprised” and other side of me is glad parents are given a new innocent (at least when they are sleeping) babies to so strongly contrast the evil in this world.  It has given me a new motivation.  When my children have to learn about child molesters and the Holocaust, and least I can say I am doing something to try to change it.

Leave a Reply

